Please sign in to post.

First leg of a 2021 trip: Vienna

I am planning a trip for August 2021 that will focus on Slovakia. Since we will be flying into Vienna, I am currently studying up and planning for a few days there at the start of our trip. I'd appreciate suggestions on my first draft of the itinerary (adding, subtracting, or rearranging). I've tried to keep a relaxing pace. I would like to eliminate a day, but I'm not sure where. Could days 3 & 4 be combined, or would that be too much in one day? My son and I are not much on palaces or churches, but tend to spend more time in any given museum than most people do, and like to incorporate some outdoor experiences and of course good food into our travels. We like music but would be more interested in traditional/folk than the classical Vienna is so famous for. I'd also like to hear any personal experiences about the Naturhistorisches Museum. Thanks!

Arrival day: Explore the neighborhood and tour St. Stephen’s.
Day 1: Tour the Hofburg (figured we should see one), rest in Volksgarten Park, and explore the Old Town area.
Day 2: Naturhistorisches (Natural history) Museum.
Day 3: Castle Belvedere (Klimt paintings) and the Naschmarkt (in the same area).
Day 4: Take a tram (?) out to some Vienna wine taverns (heurigen) in Grinzing.
Day 5: Kunsthistorisches Museum (Museum of Art History)
Day 6: Take the Twin City Liner to Bratislava.

Posted by
3044 posts

Actually you can do more on one day than you indicate. We went to the Naturhistorisches Museum - it has the famous Venus figure (oldest object I have ever seen). I'd say we spent 3 hours there. You could do that in the morning, have a lunch, and then go to the Belvedere history.

To get to the Heurigen, we took the bus. They were lots of fun - very pleasant - depending on the time of year, of course.

I'd plan time as well at the Schonbrun Palace. I've been there 3 times, and never been inside. The gardens are quite nice, and worth a trip.