Please sign in to post.

Austrian Alps

I'm not sure how to ask my question without sounding like a complete dunce, but I'm just looking for some basic advice. It's been a dream of mine to go to the Alps with my wife. I've been saving for a few years for a trip next summer. I'd always heard "Alps" and thought "Switzerland." Some have suggested I look into Austria to save a bit. In your opinion, are the Alpine vistas in Austria a worthy alternative to those of Switzerland, taking into account any potential savings? What regions/towns should I be looking into? We're most interested in being able to walk in the mountains. I know Austria has fantastic history and culture, so we're not afraid of cities or anything. But our top priority is the mountains. Any recommendations?

Thanks.

Posted by
782 posts

Hi roda,
Look at Rick Steves book on Austria,Innsbruck is a great place to stay,lots of mountain access from there,also look at St Anton,Zurs and Lech,these are beautiful areas of the Alps,we have stayed in Innsbruck and St Anton and would recommend both.
Mike

Posted by
8141 posts

I like to fly into Munich, drive east to Salzburg and then south and west through the Austrian Alps and the region of Tirol.

We'll often go into the southern Bavaria and come back into Munich from the southwest. I have found the Austrian Alps to be absolutely beautiful, and I've found the region is cheaper and easier to travel through than Switzerland.

My favorite drive is the Grossglockner High Mountain Highway going south of Zell-am-See down to Lienz, Austria which is on the Italian border. The Grossglockner is the highest mountain in Austria and second highest in all of Europe--and the south side of the mountain is the most beautiful place I've ever seen.