Please sign in to post.

Retiring in Europe

I've been traveling full time for nearly 10 years. It's now time for me to think about putting down roots.

I'm contemplating doing this somewhere in Europe. I'm looking for countries that offer retirement visas.

For those of you who have done it or have been contemplating it, are there any websites you can recommend that can get me started?

Unfortunately, the one country I would prefer to move to no longer issues retirement visas to Americans.

Addendum.....after reading some responses let me clarify....I'm not looking to make a permanent, full time move. I'm looking for a part-time "homebase " in Europe so I don't have to keep coming back to the US.

Posted by
2490 posts

Not that long ago you were thinking nice spot in the great old USA ... change of focus? or still open to both?

I'm watching this with interest. If this is truly a long-term aspiration, is becoming quite fluent in a second language a road block of sorts?

Posted by
785 posts

We fall in the "contemplating it" category, and have focused much of our attention on the Spanish Non-Lucrative Visa. In spite of the funny name, it is basically the visa if you are committed to NOT working. We've reviewed multiple websites, and I'd suggest doing the same. But the provable income requirements seemed very doable, along with proof of insurance. The process moves incrementally -- 90 days then 1 year then 2-year renewals.

Posted by
8170 posts

Portugal is maybe the easiest place to get the Visa. Still not inexpensive. Google "Portugal visas".

Posted by
18097 posts

You can check out these guys for the "Golden Visas". I know the EU clammped down on a lot of them a few years ago.

I guess there are two ways to do this.

1. Find an easy route in, then retire there.
    Or
  2. Decide where you want to retire and pursue the system.

I did the latter.